baked apple quaker instant oatmeal

April 22, 2009

I ate the [title] this morning and the smell made me want to go home. LoL that sounded funny. It smelled really good and it made me really not want to be away at school. It evoked [very quick] images and memories of Thanksgiving dinners in Georgia.

Some people might disagree, but I’m not a big one for independence. I like being alone sometimes and I like doing things my own way, but I don’t like being away from family. The longer I’m at school, the more I sometimes wish I still lived at home.

No regrets? It’s good that I’m here, ’cause I realize how amazing it is to have an awesome family and to live in a home and to have hot meals with people you love. : ) I’ve learned my lesson, though, and I’m ready to go home.

I’m also a runner and so I’m at the point in the semester when I’m overwhelmed and just want to leave. Regardless, family dinners are a beautiful thing. They get rushed through so often, but when you’re at the student union eating instant oatmeal…it makes you wanna slow down and have some roast beast and mashed potatoes in your yellow kitchen at a table for 4 that’s currently seating 8.

Peace.

familydinner
familydinner2
familydinner3

2 Responses to “baked apple quaker instant oatmeal”

  1. Mom said

    Joy, that was so awesome! And sweet! I love the yellow kitchen part (and of course the reference to roast beast!)….you are such a joy to have as a daughter…I am so blessed! I love you!

  2. aunt cindy said

    i liked it also, joy bird! altho i am confused….i don’t cook roast beef for thanksgiving & i don’t have a yellow kitchen! ha! :):) have a lovely day. love you!

Leave a comment